Established: By Articles of Agreement signed April 27, 1976, in Rabat, Morocco, effective as of February 2, 1977.

Purpose: To correct disequilibria in the balance of payments of member states; to promote the stability of exchange rates among Arab currencies, rendering them mutually convertible; to promote Arab economic integration and development; to encourage the creation of a unified Arab currency; and to coordinate policies in other international monetary and economic forums.

Headquarters: Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates.

Principal Organs: Board of Governors (all members), Board of Executive Directors (nine members), Loan and Investments Committees.

Web site: As of December 2009, the site was down for “review.” The site previously had an English-language section, but many documents were available in Arabic only.

Director General: Jassim al-Mannai (Bahrain).

Membership (22): Algeria, Bahrain, ...

locked icon

Sign in to access this content

Get a 30 day FREE TRIAL

  • Watch videos from a variety of sources bringing classroom topics to life
  • Read modern, diverse business cases
  • Explore hundreds of books and reference titles