Republic of Tunisia

al-Jumhuriyah al-Tunisiyah

Note: Gen. Zine El-Abidine BEN ALI (Democratic Constitutional Assembly—RCD) was reelected with 89.62 percent of the vote for a fifth five-year term in multicandidate balloting on October 25, 2009. In concurrent elections for the House of Representatives, the RCD won 161 of 214 seats.

Political Status: Independent state since 1956; republic proclaimed July 25, 1957; under one-party dominant, presidential regime.

Area: 63,170 sq. mi. (163,610 sq. km.).

Population: 9,910,872 (2004C); 10,372,000 (2008E).

Major Urban Centers (2005E): TUNIS (734,000), Sfax (Safaqis, 269,000), Ariana (252,000), Ettadhamen (116,000).

Official Language: Arabic; French is widely spoken as a second language.

Monetary Unit: Dinar (market rate December 1, 2009: 1.27 dinars = $1US).

President: (See headnnote.) Gen. Zine El-Abidine BEN ALI (Democratic Constitutional Assembly); appointed prime minister on October 2, 1987; acceded to the ...

locked icon

Sign in to access this content

Get a 30 day FREE TRIAL

  • Watch videos from a variety of sources bringing classroom topics to life
  • Read modern, diverse business cases
  • Explore hundreds of books and reference titles