Swiss Confederation

Schweizerische Eidgenossenschaft (German)

Confédération Suisse (French)

Confederazione Svizzera (Italian)

Confederaziun Svizra (Romansch)

Political Status: Neutral confederation since 1291; equivalent of federal system embodied in constitution of May 29, 1874. A new constitution, which revised and reformed that of 1874, went into effect on January 1, 2000 (as adopted April 18, 1999).

Area: 15,943 sq. mi. (41,293 sq. km.).

Population: 7,288,010 (2000C); 7,593,000 (2008E); figures reference resident population, including noncitizens.

Major Urban Centers (2005E): BERN (118,000), Zürich (327,000), Geneva (177,000), Basel (163,000), Lausanne (109,000).

Official Languages: German, French, Italian. Romansch is recognized as a national language but without full official status.

Monetary Unit: Swiss Franc (market rate December 1, 2009: 0.99 francs = $1US).

President: Hans-Rudolf MERZ (FDP-The Liberals), elected by the Federal Assembly on December 10, 2008, to succeed Pascal COUCHEPIN (FDP-The Liberals) for ...

locked icon

Sign in to access this content

Get a 30 day FREE TRIAL

  • Watch videos from a variety of sources bringing classroom topics to life
  • Read modern, diverse business cases
  • Explore hundreds of books and reference titles