Democratic Republic of São Tomé and Príncipe

República Democrática de São Tomé e Príncipe

Political Status: Achieved independence from Portugal on July 12, 1975; constitution of November 5, 1975, revised in December 1982, October 1987, August 1990, and March 2003.

Area: 387 sq. mi. (1,001 sq. km.).

Population: 137,599 (2001C); 167,000 (2008E).

Major Urban Center (2008E): SÃO TOMÉ (62,500).

Official Language: Portuguese.

Monetary Unit: Dobra (market rate December 1, 2009: 15,525.00 dobras = $1US). With the support of Portugal, the dobra will be pegged to the euro beginning in January 2010.

President: Fradique de MENEZES (Independent Democratic Action); popularly elected on July 29, 2001, and sworn in for a five-year term on September 3 to succeed Miguel Anjos da Cunha Lisboa TROVOADA (Independent Democratic Action); reelected (as the candidate of the alliance of ...

locked icon

Sign in to access this content

Get a 30 day FREE TRIAL

  • Watch videos from a variety of sources bringing classroom topics to life
  • Read modern, diverse business cases
  • Explore hundreds of books and reference titles