Independent State of Samoa

Sa ‘oloto Tuto ‘atasi o Samoa

Note: There is considerable confusion regarding Samoan proper names, the initial component being generally accorded benchmark status and, with some exceptions, utilized herein as such.

Political Status: Independent state since January 1, 1962; member of the Commonwealth since 1970; under mixed political system approximating a constitutional monarchy.

Area: 1,097 sq. mi. (2,842 sq. km.).

Population: 179,186 (2006C); 191,000 (2008E). The 2006 figure is provisional.

Major Urban Center (2005E): APIA (40,700).

Official Languages: English, Samoan.

Monetary Unit: Tala (official rate December 1, 2009: 2.49 tala = $1US).

Head of State: TUIATUA Tupua Tamasese Taisi Tupuola Tufuga Efi; elected by the Legislative Assembly and installed on June 20, 2007, succeeding Susuga MALIETOA Tanumafili II, who had died on May 12.

Prime Minister: TUILA’EPA Sa’ilele Malielegaoi (Human Rights ...

locked icon

Sign in to access this content

Get a 30 day FREE TRIAL

  • Watch videos from a variety of sources bringing classroom topics to life
  • Read modern, diverse business cases
  • Explore hundreds of books and reference titles