Saint Lucia

Political Status: Former British dependency; joined West Indies Associated States in 1967; independent member of the Commonwealth since February 22, 1979.

Area: 238 sq. mi. (616 sq. km.).

Population: 162,982 (2001C); including adjustment for underennumeration; 168,400 (2008E).

Major Urban Center (2005E): CASTRIES (14,600).

Official Language: English.

Monetary Unit: East Caribbean Dollar (official rate December 1, 2009: 2.70 dollars = $1US).

Sovereign: Queen ELIZABETH II.

Governor General: Dame Perlette LOUISY; sworn in September 17, 1997, succeeding Sir W. George MALLET.

Prime Minister: Stevenson KING (United Workers’ Party); named acting prime minister on May 1, 2007, following the incapacitation of Sir John George Melvin COMPTON; inaugurated as prime minister on September 9 after Compton’s death on September 7.

The Country

The second largest of the former West Indies Associated States, St. Lucia lies between Martinique ...

locked icon

Sign in to access this content

Get a 30 day FREE TRIAL

  • Watch videos from a variety of sources bringing classroom topics to life
  • Read modern, diverse business cases
  • Explore hundreds of books and reference titles