• Country
  • Countries A-Z


Republic of Paraguay

República del Paraguay

Political Status: Independent since 1811; under presidential rule established in 1844; present constitution promulgated on June 20, 1992.

Area: 157,047 sq. mi. (406,752 sq. km.).

Population: 5,183,080 (2002C), excluding adjustment for underenumeration; 6,235,000 (2008E).

Major Urban Centers (2005E): ASUNCIÓN (517,000), Ciudad del Este (247,000), San Lorenzo (230,000).

Official Languages: Spanish, Guaraní.

Monetary Unit: Guaraní (market rate December 1, 2009: 4,775.00 guaraníes = $1US).

President: Fernando Armindo LUGO Méndez (Patriotic Alliance for Change); popularly elected on April 20, 2008, and sworn in on August 15 for a five-year term, succeeding Nicanor DUARTE Frutos (Colorado Party).

Vice President: Luis Federico FRANCO Gómez (Patriotic Alliance for Change/Authentic Radical Liberal Party); elected on April 20, 2008, and sworn in on August 15 for a term concurrent with that of the president. ...

locked icon

Sign in to access this content

Get a 30 day FREE TRIAL

  • Watch videos from a variety of sources bringing classroom topics to life
  • Read modern, diverse business cases
  • Explore hundreds of books and reference titles