Republic of Palau

Belu’u era Belau

Political Status: Former U.S. Trust Territory; became sovereign state in free association with the United States on October 1, 1994.

Land Area: 178 sq. mi. (461 sq. km.).

Population: 19,907 (2005C); 20,500 (2008E). Approximately 6,000 residents are nonnationals.

Major Urban Center (2005C): Koror (10,743), MELEKEOK (250). Melekeok, located on the largely undeveloped northern island of Babeldaob, replaced Koror as Palau’s capital in October 2006.

Official Languages: English, Palauan.

Monetary Unit: U.S. Dollar (see U.S. article for principal exchange rates).

President: Johnson TORIBIONG (nonparty); elected on November 4, 2008, and inaugurated for a four-year term on January 15, 2009, succeeding Thomas (Tommy) REMENGESAU Jr. (nonparty), who was ineligible for reelection.

Vice President: Kerai MARIUR (nonparty); elected on November 4, 2008, for a term concurrent with that of the president, ...

locked icon

Sign in to access this content

Get a 30 day FREE TRIAL

  • Watch videos from a variety of sources bringing classroom topics to life
  • Read modern, diverse business cases
  • Explore hundreds of books and reference titles