Republic of the Union of Myanmar

Pyihtaungsu Thamada Myanmar Naingngandaw

Political Status: Independent republic established January 4, 1948; military-backed regime instituted March 2, 1962; one-party constitution of January 4, 1974, abrogated upon direct assumption of power by the military on September 18, 1988, at which time the words “Socialist Republic” (Socialist Thamada) were dropped from the country’s official name; official title in English changed from Union of Burma to Union of Myanmar on May 27, 1989; new constitution, ratified through referendum of May 10 and 24, 2008, and promulgated May 29, 2008.

Area: 261,789 sq. mi. (678,033 sq. km.).

Population: 35,306,189 (1983C); 50,214,000 (2008E). The 1983 figure includes nonresident nationals but excludes adjustment for underenumeration.

Major Urban Centers (2007E): NAYPYIDAW (NAY PYI TAW, 420,000); Yangon (Rangoon, 4,090,000), Mandalay (960,000). In ...

locked icon

Sign in to access this content

Get a 30 day FREE TRIAL

  • Watch videos from a variety of sources bringing classroom topics to life
  • Read modern, diverse business cases
  • Explore hundreds of books and reference titles