Monggol Ulus

Note: Prime Minister Sanj Bayar, citing ill health, resigned from office on October 25, 2009. Four days later, the State Great Hural confirmed Minister of Foreign Affairs Sukhgaatar Batbold (Mongolian People’s Revolutionary Party) as his successor.

Political Status: Independent since 1921; Communist People’s Republic established November 26, 1924; multi-party system introduced by constitutional amendment of May 11, 1990; current constitution adopted January 13, 1992, in effect from February 12.

Area: 604,247 sq. mi. (1,565,000 sq. km.).

Population: 2,373,493 (2000C); 2,659,000 (2008E).

Major Urban Centers (2005E): ULAANBAATAR (Ulan Bator, 936,000), Erdenet (82,000), Darhan (64,000), Choybalsan (40,000).

Monetary Unit: Tugrik (market rate December 1, 2009: 1,453.00 tugriks = $1US).

Official Language: Khalkha Mongol.

President: Tsakhiagiyn ELBEGDORJ (Democratic Party), popularly elected for a four-year term on May 24, 2009, and sworn in on June ...

locked icon

Sign in to access this content

Get a 30 day FREE TRIAL

  • Watch videos from a variety of sources bringing classroom topics to life
  • Read modern, diverse business cases
  • Explore hundreds of books and reference titles