Republic of the Marshall Islands

Note: President Litokwa Tomeing was ousted by losing a confidence motion by a vote of 17–15 in the House of Representatives on October 21, 2009, following a prolonged power struggle with former president Kessai Note. House Speaker Jurelang Zedkaia was inaugurated as the new president on November 2 after defeating Note in a House vote for the position by a vote of 17–15. Meanwhile, Alvin Jacklick succeeded Zedkaia as speaker.

Political Status: Sovereign state in free association with the United States (which retains authority with regard to defense) since October 21, 1986.

Area: 70 sq. mi. (181 sq. km.).

Population: 50,848 (1999C); 59,000 (2008E).

Major Urban Center (2005E): DALAP-ULIGA-DARRIT (Majuro Atoll; 26,000).

Official Languages: English, Marshallese.

Monetary Unit: U.S. Dollar (see U.S. article for principal exchange rates).

President: ...

locked icon

Sign in to access this content

Get a 30 day FREE TRIAL

  • Watch videos from a variety of sources bringing classroom topics to life
  • Read modern, diverse business cases
  • Explore hundreds of books and reference titles