Republic of Kenya

Jamhuri ya Kenya

Political Status: Independent member of the Commonwealth since December 12, 1963; republic established in 1964; de facto one-party system, established in 1969, recognized as de jure by constitutional amendment on June 9, 1982; multiparty system approved by constitutional amendment on December 20, 1991.

Area: 224,960 sq. mi. (582,646 sq. km.).

Population: 28,686,607 (1999C); 35,052,000 (2008E).

Major Urban Centers (2005E): NAIROBI (urban area, 2,725,000); Mombasa (798,000).

Official Language: English (Kiswahili is the national language).

Monetary Unit: Kenya Shilling (principal rate December 1, 2009: 74.85 shillings = $1US).

President: Emilio Mwai KIBAKI (Party of National Unity) elected by popular vote on December 27, 2002, and inaugurated on December 30, 2002, for a five-year term, succeeding Daniel Teroitich arap MOI (Kenya African National Union), who had served as president since ...

locked icon

Sign in to access this content

Get a 30 day FREE TRIAL

  • Watch videos from a variety of sources bringing classroom topics to life
  • Read modern, diverse business cases
  • Explore hundreds of books and reference titles