Federal Republic of Germany

Bundesrepublik Deutschland

Note: Following Federal Assembly elections on September 27, 2009, the seat distribution was as follows: Christian Democratic Union / Christian Social Union (CDU/CSU), 239; Social Democratic Party, 146; Free Democratic Party (FDP), 93; the Left, 76; and Alliance '90/The Greens, 68. Chancellor Angela Merkel (CDU/CSU) was reelected by the Federal Assembly on October 28, 2009.

Political Status: Divided into British, French, Soviet, and U.S. occupation zones in July 1945; Federal Republic of Germany under democratic parliamentary regime established in Western zones on May 23, 1949; German Democratic Republic established under Communist auspices in Soviet zone on October 7, 1949; unified as the Federal Republic of Germany on October 3, 1990.

Area: 137,854 sq. mi. (357,041 sq. km.).

Population: 82,360,000 (2008E).

Major Urban Centers (2007E): BERLIN ...

locked icon

Sign in to access this content

Get a 30 day FREE TRIAL

  • Watch videos from a variety of sources bringing classroom topics to life
  • Read modern, diverse business cases
  • Explore hundreds of books and reference titles