República Dominicana

Political Status: Independent republic established in 1844; under constitutional regime reestablished July 1, 1966.

Area: 18,816 sq. mi. (48,734 sq. km.).

Population: 8,562,541 (2002C); 9,531,000 (2008E).

Major Urban Centers (2005E): SANTO DOMINGO (1,922,000), Santiago de los Caballeros (526,000).

Official Language: Spanish.

Monetary Unit: Peso (market rate December 1, 2009: 35.97 pesos = $1US).

President: Leonel Antonio FERNÁNDEZ Reyna (Dominican Liberation Party); served as president 1996–2000; reelected on May 16, 2004, and inaugurated on August 16 for a four-year term, succeeding Rafael Hipólito MEJÍA Domingues (Dominican Revolutionary Party); reelected on May 16, 2008, and inaugurated for a third term on August 16.

Vice President: Rafael ALBUQUERQUE De Castro (Dominican Liberation Party); elected on May 16, 2004, and inaugurated with the president on August 16, for a term concurrent with that of ...

locked icon

Sign in to access this content

Get a 30 day FREE TRIAL

  • Watch videos from a variety of sources bringing classroom topics to life
  • Read modern, diverse business cases
  • Explore hundreds of books and reference titles