Česká Republika

Political Status: Independent Czechoslovak Republic proclaimed in 1918; People’s Republic of Czechoslovakia established June 9, 1948; redesignated Czechoslovak Socialist Republic on July 11, 1960; renamed Czech and Slovak Federative Republic on April 21, 1990; present Czech Republic proclaimed upon separation of the constituent components of the federation on January 1, 1993.

Area: 30,450 sq. mi. (78,864 sq. km.).

Population: 10,230,060 (2001C); 10,359,000 (2008E).

Major Urban Centers (2005E): PRAGUE (1,165,000), Brno (368,000), Ostrava (312,000), Plzeň (163,000).

Official Language: Czech.

Monetary Unit: Koruna (official rate December 1, 2009: 17.19 koruny = $1US).

President: Václav KLAUS (Independent); elected by the parliament in the third round of balloting on February 28, 2003, and sworn in for a five-year term on March 7 to replace Václav HAVEL (nominated by ruling coalition headed by the Civic ...

locked icon

Sign in to access this content

Get a 30 day FREE TRIAL

  • Watch videos from a variety of sources bringing classroom topics to life
  • Read modern, diverse business cases
  • Explore hundreds of books and reference titles