Union of the Comoros

Union des Comores (French)

Note: Supporters of President Ahmed Sambi reportedly won 19 of the 24 directly elected seats in balloting for the Assembly of the Union on December 6 and 20, 2009.

Political Status: Former French dependency; proclaimed independent July 6, 1975; Federal Islamic Republic of the Comoros proclaimed in constitution approved by national referendum on October 1, 1978; constitution of October 20, 1996, suspended following military coup of April 30, 1999; new constitution providing for the Union of the Comoros adopted by national referendum on December 23, 2001.

Area: 718 sq. mi. (1,860 sq. km.), excluding the island of Mahoré (Mayotte), which voted in 1976 to retain its affiliation with France as a “Territorial Collectivity,” subsequently became classified as a French “Overseas Collectivity” ...

locked icon

Sign in to access this content

Get a 30 day FREE TRIAL

  • Watch videos from a variety of sources bringing classroom topics to life
  • Read modern, diverse business cases
  • Explore hundreds of books and reference titles