• Country
  • Countries A-Z


Republic of Colombia

República de Colombia

Political Status: Independent Gran Colombia proclaimed 1819; separate state of New Granada established 1831; republican constitution adopted 1886; bipartisan National Front regime instituted in 1958 but substantially terminated in 1974; current constitution promulgated July 5, 1991.

Area: 439,734 sq. mi. (1,138,914 sq. km.).

Population: 42,888,592 (2005C); 44,453,000 (2008E). The 2005 figure includes an adjustment for underenumeration.

Major Urban Centers (urban areas, 2005E): SANTAFÉ DE BOGOTÁ (formerly Bogotá, 8,350,000), Medellín (3,450,000), Cali (2,700,000), Barranquilla (1,925,000), Cartagena (1,075,000).

Official Language: Spanish.

Monetary Unit: Peso (principal rate December 1, 2009: 1,995.31 pesos = $1US).

President: Álvaro URIBE Vélez (Independent); elected May 26, 2002, and inaugurated August 7 for a four-year term, succeeding Andrés PASTRANA Arango (Conservative Party); reelected May 28, 2006, and inaugurated August 7 for a second four-year term.

Vice ...

locked icon

Sign in to access this content

Get a 30 day FREE TRIAL

  • Watch videos from a variety of sources bringing classroom topics to life
  • Read modern, diverse business cases
  • Explore hundreds of books and reference titles