Republic of China

Chung-hua Min-kuo

Note: In view of the Republic of China’s decision to abandon its claim that it constituted the sole legitimate representative of all of China, the Taipei Economic and Cultural Office in New York has indicated that the designation Republic of China on Taiwan (Tsai Taiwan te Chung-hua Min-kuo) is acceptable for informal usage.

Political Status: Chinese province; controlled by the government of the Republic of China (established 1912), whose authority since 1949 has been limited to the island of Taiwan (Formosa), Penghu (the Pescadores), and certain offshore islands, including Kinmen (Quemoy) and Matsu; present constitution adopted December 25, 1946, effective from December 25, 1947.

Area: 13,592 sq. mi. (35,203 sq. km.).

Population: 22,300,929 (2000C); 23,063,000 (2008E).

Major Urban Centers (2005E): TAIPEI (2,619,000), Kaohsiung (1,522,000), Taichung (1,039,000), ...

locked icon

Sign in to access this content

Get a 30 day FREE TRIAL

  • Watch videos from a variety of sources bringing classroom topics to life
  • Read modern, diverse business cases
  • Explore hundreds of books and reference titles