Democratic and Popular Republic of Algeria

al-Jumhuriyah al-Jazairiyah

al-Dimuqratiyah al-Shabiyah

Note: On April 9, 2009, President Abdelaziz Bouteflika secured his third term in office with 90.24% of the vote, beating out Louisa Hanoune of the Worker’s Party (PT), who only received 4.22%. The constitution was changed in November 2008 to eliminate term limits and allow the 72 year old to run again. Voter turnout reached 74.56%, unusually high for Algeria.Four candidates filed appeals with the Constitutional Council alleging mass fraud; all appeals were rejected.

Note: On June 23, 2008, President Bouteflika appointed Ahmed Ouyahia, the secretary general of the National Democratic Rally, as prime minister. Ouyahia, who had served as prime minister in 2003–2006, announced a reshuffled cabinet that included former prime minister Abdelaziz Belkhadem as a minister of ...

locked icon

Sign in to access this content

Get a 30 day FREE TRIAL

  • Watch videos from a variety of sources bringing classroom topics to life
  • Read modern, diverse business cases
  • Explore hundreds of books and reference titles