Established: By protocols signed in Paris, France, October 23, 1954, effective May 6, 1955.

Purpose: Collective self-defense and political collaboration in support of European unity.

Headquarters: Brussels, Belgium.

Principal Organs: Council of Ministers, Permanent Council, Inter-Parliamentary European Security and Defense Assembly, Secretariat.

Web site:

Secretary General: Javier Solana Madariaga (Spain).

Membership (10): Belgium, France, Germany, Greece, Italy, Luxembourg, Netherlands, Portugal, Spain, United Kingdom.

Associate Members (6): Czech Republic, Hungary, Iceland, Norway, Poland, and Turkey.

Associate Partners (8): Bulgaria, Croatia, Estonia, Latvia, Lithuania, Romania, Slovakia, and Slovenia.

Observers (5): Austria, Denmark, Finland, Ireland, and Sweden.

Official Languages: English, French.

Origin and development. The Western European Union (WEU) is the direct successor of the five-power Brussels Treaty Organization, which was established by the United Kingdom, France, and the Benelux states through the Treaty of ...

locked icon

Sign in to access this content

Get a 30 day FREE TRIAL

  • Watch videos from a variety of sources bringing classroom topics to life
  • Read modern, diverse business cases
  • Explore hundreds of books and reference titles