Latin American and Caribbean Economic System (LAES/SELA)

Systeme Economique Latinaméricain

Sistema Económico Latino-Americano e do Caribe

Sistema Económico Latinoamericana y del Caribe

Established: By convention signed October 17, 1975, in Panama City, Panama.

Purpose: To promote intraregional cooperation to accelerate the economic and social development of its members; to provide a permanent system of consultation and coordination for the adoption of common positions and strategies on economic and social issues in international bodies and forums as well as before third countries and groups of countries.

Headquarters: Caracas, Venezuela.

Principal Organs: Latin American Council, Action Committees, Permanent Secretariat.

Web site: (A fairly complete English-language version is provided.)

Permanent Secretary: José Rivera Banuet (Mexico)

Membership (26): Argentina, Bahamas, Barbados, Belize, Bolivia, Brazil, Chile, Colombia, Costa Rica, Cuba, Dominican Republic, Ecuador, Guatemala, Guyana, Haiti, Honduras, Jamaica, Mexico, Nicaragua, Panama, Paraguay, Peru, Suriname, ...

locked icon

Sign in to access this content

Get a 30 day FREE TRIAL

  • Watch videos from a variety of sources bringing classroom topics to life
  • Read modern, diverse business cases
  • Explore hundreds of books and reference titles