Established: As the group of contributing countries to the General Arrangements to Borrow (GAB), negotiated in 1962 in Paris, France, by the Executive Board of the International Monetary Fund.

Purpose: To discuss problems relating to the function and structure of the international monetary system.

Principal Organs: None; communication within the group occurs at regular and ad hoc meetings of ministers, ministerial deputies, and governors or other representatives of the members' central banks.

Web site: (This is a very minimal collection of links to other institutions where related documents may be found.)

Membership (11): Belgium, Canada, France, Germany, Italy, Japan, Netherlands, Sweden, Switzerland, United Kingdom, United States.

Nonstate Participants (4): International Monetary Fund (IMF), Organization for Economic Cooperation and Development (OECD), Bank for International Settlements (BIS), European Commission (EC).

Origin and ...

locked icon

Sign in to access this content

Get a 30 day FREE TRIAL

  • Watch videos from a variety of sources bringing classroom topics to life
  • Read modern, diverse business cases
  • Explore hundreds of books and reference titles