Socialist Republic of Vietnam

Công-Hòa Xā-Hôi Chu-Nghīa Viêt Nam

Political Status: Communist republic originally proclaimed September 2, 1945; Democratic Republic of Vietnam established in the North on July 21, 1954; Republic of Vietnam established in the South on October 26, 1955; Socialist Republic of Vietnam proclaimed on July 2, 1976, following surrender of the southern government on April 30, 1975; present constitution adopted on April 15, 1992.

Area: 128,402 sq. mi. (332,561 sq. km.).

Population: 76,323,173 (1999C); 85,339,000 (2007E).

Major Urban Centers (metropolitan areas, 2005E): HANOI (5,046,000), Ho Chi Minh City (formerly Saigon, 5,289,000), Haiphong (2,032,000), Can Tho (1,120,000), Da Nang (720,000).

Official Language: Vietnamese.

Monetary Unit: Dông (market rate November 1, 2008: 16,825.00 dông = $1US).

President: NGUYEN MINH TRIET; elected by the National Assembly on June 27, 2006, to fill ...

locked icon

Sign in to access this content

Get a 30 day FREE TRIAL

  • Watch videos from a variety of sources bringing classroom topics to life
  • Read modern, diverse business cases
  • Explore hundreds of books and reference titles