Republic of Vanuatu

République de Vanuatu (French)

Ripablik blong Vanuatu (Bislama)

Note: Preliminary results from the legislative balloting on September 2, 2008, indicated the following distribution of seats: the Party of Our Land (Vanua'aku Pati—VP), 11; the National Unity Party (NUP), 8; the Vanuatu Republican Party (VRP), 7; the Union of Moderate Parties (UMP), 7; the People's Progressive Party, 4; the Green Confederation, 2; nine parties with 1 seat each; and independents, 4. On September 22 Edward Natapei of the VP was elected prime minister by securing 28 votes in the Parliament versus 24 votes for the VRP's Maxime Carlot. The following day Natapei announced a new cabinet that included members of the VP, NUP, several small parties, and independents. The UMP reportedly joined the government in early ...

locked icon

Sign in to access this content

Get a 30 day FREE TRIAL

  • Watch videos from a variety of sources bringing classroom topics to life
  • Read modern, diverse business cases
  • Explore hundreds of books and reference titles