Republic of Togo

République Togolaise

Political Status: Independent republic since 1960; personal military rule imposed in 1967; one-party state established November 29, 1969; Third Republic proclaimed on January 13, 1980, under constitution adopted in referendum of December 30, 1979; constitution suspended by a National Conference on July 16, 1991; multiparty constitution adopted by popular referendum on September 27, 1992.

Area: 21,622 sq. mi. (56,000 sq. km.).

Population: 2,703,250 (1981C); 6,680,000 (2007E). The 1981 figure is presumed to reflect substantial underenumeration.

Major Urban Center (2005E): LOMÉ (835,000).

Official Language: French.

Monetary Unit: CFA Franc (official rate November 1, 2008: 517.30 francs = $1US). The CFA franc, previously pegged to the French franc, is now permanently pegged to the euro at 655.957 CFA francs = 1 euro.

President: Faure Essozimma GNASSINGBÉ (Rally of the Togolese ...

locked icon

Sign in to access this content

Get a 30 day FREE TRIAL

  • Watch videos from a variety of sources bringing classroom topics to life
  • Read modern, diverse business cases
  • Explore hundreds of books and reference titles