Kingdom of Thailand

Prathet Thai

Note: There is considerable variation in the English transliteration of Thai names. Where possible, we have relied directly on Thai sources. Even then, however, variants are more common than not.

Note: Abhisit Vejjajiva, leader of the Democrat Party (DP), was elected prime minister on December 15, 2008 by 234 votes in the House of Representatives against 197 for Gen. Pracha Phromnok. Phromnok was supported by the Puea Thai Party (PTP—For Thais Party), a reformation of the former reigning People Power Party (PPP). The PPP was dissolved on Dec. 2 by the Constitutional Court for electoral fraud, along with Chart Thai Party (CT—Thai Nation) and the Matchima Thipataya Party (NDP—Neutral Democratic Party), effectively expelling the government of Somchai Wongsawat. He and 36 other PPP ...

locked icon

Sign in to access this content

Get a 30 day FREE TRIAL

  • Watch videos from a variety of sources bringing classroom topics to life
  • Read modern, diverse business cases
  • Explore hundreds of books and reference titles