Kingdom of Swaziland

Note: Elections were held on September 19, 2008, for 55 popularly elected members of the House of Assembly. All of those elected, including seven women, ran as independents, since political parties are banned. On October 16 King Mswati III appointed former prime minister Sibusiso Barnabas Dlamini as the new prime minister. Dlamini formed a new government on October 24.

Political Status: Independent monarchy within the Commonwealth since September 6, 1968.

Area: 6,703 sq. mi. (17,363 sq. km.).

Population: 929,718 (1997C); 1,153,000 (2007E).

Major Urban Centers (2005E): MBABANE (administrative capital, 78,000), Lobamba (royal and legislative capital, 11,000), Manzini (33,000).

Official Languages: English, siSwati.

Monetary Unit: Lilangeni (official rate November 1, 2008: 9.85 emalangeni = $1US). The lilangeni is at par with the South African rand, although under a Tripartite Monetary ...

locked icon

Sign in to access this content

Get a 30 day FREE TRIAL

  • Watch videos from a variety of sources bringing classroom topics to life
  • Read modern, diverse business cases
  • Explore hundreds of books and reference titles