Republic of South Africa

Republiek van Suid-Afrika

Note: In National Assembly elections held April 22, 2009, the African National Congress (ANC) secured 264 seats out of 400, losing 33 seats but still soundly defeating the Democratic Alliance (DA), who gained 20 seats for a total of 67. A new party, the Congress of the People (COPE), founded by disgruntled former ANC members, managed to attain 30 seats. Additional results are as follows: Inkatha Freedom Party (IFP); 18, Independent Democrats (ID), 4; United Democratic Movement?(UDM), 4, Freedom Front Plus, 4, African Christian Democratic Party (ACDP), 3; United Christian Democratic Party (UCDP), 2; Pan Africanist Congress of Azania (PAC), 1; Minority Front (MF), 1; Azanian People’s Organization (Azapo), 1; and African People’s Convention (APC), 1. On May 6 the ...

locked icon

Sign in to access this content

Get a 30 day FREE TRIAL

  • Watch videos from a variety of sources bringing classroom topics to life
  • Read modern, diverse business cases
  • Explore hundreds of books and reference titles