Somali Republic

Jamhuuriyada Soomaaliyeed

Note: On January 30, 2009, Shaikj Sharif Shaikh Ahmed, leader of the “Djibouti wing” of the Islamist opposition coalition Alliance of the Liberation and Reconstitution of Somalia (ALRS), was elected to replace former president Ahmed Abdullahi Yusuf, who had resigned in December 2008 after a rivalry with Prime Minister Nur Hassan Hussein. The vote was cast by legislators in Djibouti, due to the seat of Somalia’s transitional legislature Baidoa’s recent occupation by the Islamist Shabob. Ahmed secured his victory in a second-round run-off against Gen. Maslah Mohamed Siyad, 293 to 126 votes. The Transitional Federal Parliament had been recently enlarged to include 200 representatives from the Islamist opposition and 75 representatives of citizens’ groups and diaspora representatives.

Note: On May 18, 1991, the president ...

locked icon

Sign in to access this content

Get a 30 day FREE TRIAL

  • Watch videos from a variety of sources bringing classroom topics to life
  • Read modern, diverse business cases
  • Explore hundreds of books and reference titles