Republic of Slovenia

Republika Slovenija

Note: In National Assembly balloting on September 21, 2008, the Social Democrats (SD) won 29 of 90 seats, while the ruling Slovenian Democratic Party secured 28, followed by six smaller parties. SD leader Borut Pahor was named president of the Executive Council and confirmed by the Assembly on November 7. He formed a coalition government consisting of the SD and three other parties.

Political Status: Former constituent republic of the Socialist Federal Republic of Yugoslavia; independence declared June 25, 1991, on the basis of a referendum held December 23, 1990; present constitution adopted December 23, 1991.

Area: 7,818 sq. mi. (20,251 sq. km.).

Population: 1,964,036 (2002C); 2,037,000 (2007E).

Major Urban Centers (2005E): LJUBLJANA (256,000), Maribor (92,000).

Official Language: Slovene.

Monetary Unit: Euro (official rate November 1, 2008: 1 ...

locked icon

Sign in to access this content

Get a 30 day FREE TRIAL

  • Watch videos from a variety of sources bringing classroom topics to life
  • Read modern, diverse business cases
  • Explore hundreds of books and reference titles