Republic of Serbia

Republike Srbije

Political Status: Kingdom of the Serbs, Croats, and Slovenes constituted as an independent monarchy December 1, 1918, and formally renamed Yugoslavia on October 3, 1929; constituent republic of the communist Federal People's Republic of Yugoslavia instituted November 29, 1945, and then of the Socialist Federal Republic of Yugoslavia proclaimed April 7, 1963; constituent republic, along with Montenegro, of the Federal Republic of Yugoslavia, proclaimed April 27, 1992; Autonomous Province of Kosovo and Metohija placed under administration of the United Nations Interim Administrative Mission in Kosovo (UNMIK) from June 14, 1999, by authorization of United Nations Security Council Resolution 1244; “state union” of Serbia and Montenegro established February 4, 2003, under new Constitutional Charter; independent Republic of Serbia established June 5, 2006, following ...

locked icon

Sign in to access this content

Get a 30 day FREE TRIAL

  • Watch videos from a variety of sources bringing classroom topics to life
  • Read modern, diverse business cases
  • Explore hundreds of books and reference titles