Portuguese Republic

República Portuguesa

Political Status: Independent republic proclaimed on October 5, 1910; corporative constitution of March 19, 1933, suspended following military coup of April 25, 1974; present constitution promulgated on April 2, 1976, with effect from April 25.

Area: 35,553 sq. mi. (92,082 sq. km.).

Population: 10,355,824 (2001C); 10,652,000 (2007E). Area and population figures include mainland Portugal plus the Azores and the Madeira Islands.

Major Urban Centers (2005E): LISBON (520,000), Porto (Oporto, 248,000).

Official Language: Portuguese.

Monetary Unit: Euro (market rate November 1, 2008: 1 euro = $1.27US).

President: Aníbal CAVACO SILVA (Social Democratic Party); sworn in for a five-year term on March 9, 2006, following election of January 22, succeeding Jorge SAMPAIO (Socialist Party), who had served two terms, the maximum allowed under the constitution.

Prime Minister: José SÓCRATES (Socialist Party); designated ...

locked icon

Sign in to access this content

Get a 30 day FREE TRIAL

  • Watch videos from a variety of sources bringing classroom topics to life
  • Read modern, diverse business cases
  • Explore hundreds of books and reference titles