Republic of Peru

República del Perú

Note: On October 9, 2008, the cabinet resigned. The President of the Council of Ministers, Jorge Alphonso Alejandro Del Castillo Gálvez of the Peruvian Aprista Party, was replaced on October 14 by Yehude Simon Munaro of the small, regional Humanist Solidarity Party, and a new cabinet named on the same day.

Political Status: Independent republic proclaimed 1821; military rule imposed on October 3, 1968; constitutional government restored on July 28, 1980; national emergency declared in wake of army-backed “presidential coup” on April 5, 1992; present constitution effective from December 29, 1993.

Area: 496,222 sq. mi. (1,285,216 sq. km.).

Population: 27,219,264 (2005C), including an adjustment of 3.92 percent for underenumeration; 28,351,000 (2007E).

Major Urban Center (2005E): LIMA (metropolitan area, 8,550,000).

Official Languages: Spanish, Quechua.

Monetary Unit: New Sol ...

locked icon

Sign in to access this content

Get a 30 day FREE TRIAL

  • Watch videos from a variety of sources bringing classroom topics to life
  • Read modern, diverse business cases
  • Explore hundreds of books and reference titles