Note: In the general election of November 8, 2008, the National Party won 45.45 percent of the popular vote and 59 seats in the House of Representatives, followed by the Labour Party, 33.77 percent and 43 seats; the Green Party of Aotearoa, 6.43 percent and 8 seats; ACT New Zealand, 3.72 percent and 5 seats; the Maori Party, 2.24 percent and 5 seats; the Progressives, .93 percent and 1 seat; United Future New Zealand, .89 percent and 1 seat; and New Zealand First, 0 seats. The National Party subsequently formed a minority government with support in confidence and budget votes pledged by ACT New Zealand, the Maori Party, and United Future New Zealand. National Party leader John Key was sworn in as prime minster on ...

locked icon

Sign in to access this content

Get a 30 day FREE TRIAL

  • Watch videos from a variety of sources bringing classroom topics to life
  • Read modern, diverse business cases
  • Explore hundreds of books and reference titles