Republic of Namibia

Political Status: Former German territory assigned to South Africa under League of Nations mandate in 1920; declared to be a United Nations responsibility by General Assembly resolution adopted October 27, 1966 (resolution not recognized by South Africa); subject to tripartite (Angolan-Cuban-South African) agreement concluded on December 22, 1988, providing for implementation from April 1, 1989, of Security Council Resolution 435 of 1978 (leading to UN-supervised elections on November 1 and independence thereafter); independence declared on March 21, 1990.

Area: 318,259 sq. mi. (824,292 sq. km.).

Population: 1,826,854 (2001C); 2,086,000 (2007E). Both area and population figures include data for Walvis Bay (see Political background and Foreign relations, below).

Major Urban Center (2005E): WINDHOEK (282,000).

Official Language: English.

Monetary Unit: Namibian Dollar (official rate November 1, 2008: 9.85 dollars = ...

locked icon

Sign in to access this content

Get a 30 day FREE TRIAL

  • Watch videos from a variety of sources bringing classroom topics to life
  • Read modern, diverse business cases
  • Explore hundreds of books and reference titles