Monggol Ulus

Note: Incumbent prime minister Sanj Bayar of the Mongolian People's Revolutionary Party (MPRP) was reappointed for another term by the State Great Hural on September 11, 2008, following legislative elections on June 29. A coalition government of the MPRP and the Democratic Party was sworn in on September 22.

Political Status: Independent since 1921; Communist People's Republic established November 26, 1924; multiparty system introduced by constitutional amendment of May 11, 1990; current constitution adopted January 13, 1992, in effect from February 12.

Area: 604,247 sq. mi. (1,565,000 sq. km.).

Population: 2,373,493 (2000C); 2,626,000 (2007E).

Major Urban Centers (2005E): ULAANBAATAR (Ulan Bator, 936,000), Erdenet (82,000), Darhan (64,000), Choybalsan (40,000).

Monetary Unit: Tugrik (market rate November 1, 2008: 1,145.00 tugriks = $1US).

Official Language: Khalkha Mongol.

President: Nambaryn ENKHBAYAR (Mongolian People's Revolutionary Party); ...

locked icon

Sign in to access this content

Get a 30 day FREE TRIAL

  • Watch videos from a variety of sources bringing classroom topics to life
  • Read modern, diverse business cases
  • Explore hundreds of books and reference titles