Principality of Monaco

Principauté de Monaco

Political Status: Independent principality founded in the 13th century; constitutional monarchy since 1911; present constitution promulgated December 17, 1962 (amended in April 2002).

Area: 0.70 sq. mi. (1.81 sq. km.).

Population: 32,020 (2000C); 33,500 (2007E).

Major Urban Center (2005E): MONACO-VILLE (1,100).

Official Language: French.

Monetary Unit: Euro (market rate November 1, 2008: 1 euro = $1.27US). Although not a member of the European Union (EU), Monaco was authorized by the EU to adopt the euro as its official currency and mint a limited supply of Monégasque euro coins.

Sovereign: Prince ALBERT II; acceded to the throne April 6, 2005, following the death of his father, Prince RAINIER III; formally installed in two-part process on July 12 and November 19, 2005.

Heiress Presumptive: Hereditary Princess CAROLINE, elder sister of ...

locked icon

Sign in to access this content

Get a 30 day FREE TRIAL

  • Watch videos from a variety of sources bringing classroom topics to life
  • Read modern, diverse business cases
  • Explore hundreds of books and reference titles