Italian Republic

Repubblica Italiana

Political Status: Unified state proclaimed in 1861; republic established by national referendum in 1946; under parliamentary constitution effective January 1, 1948.

Area: 116,303 sq. mi. (301,225 sq. km.).

Population: 56,995,744 (2001C); 58,780,135 (2007E). Figures are de jure. The de facto figures are 57,110,144 and 58,897,670.

Major Urban Centers (2005E): ROME (2,539,000), Milan (1,284,000), Naples (996,000), Turin (870,000), Palermo (675,000), Genoa (591,000).

Official Language: Italian (German is also official in Trentino-Alto Adige).

Monetary Unit: Euro (market rate November 1, 2008: 1 euro = $1.27US).

President of the Republic: Giorgio NAPOLITANO (Democrats of the Left) elected by the electoral college on May 10, 2006, and inaugurated on May 15 for a seven-year term, succeeding Carlo Azeglio CIAMPI (nonparty).

President of the Council of Ministers: (Prime Minister): Silvio BERLUSCONI (People of Freedom); designated ...

locked icon

Sign in to access this content

Get a 30 day FREE TRIAL

  • Watch videos from a variety of sources bringing classroom topics to life
  • Read modern, diverse business cases
  • Explore hundreds of books and reference titles