State of Israel

Medinat Yisrael (Hebrew)

Dawlat Israil (Arabic)

Note: Information on Palestinian affairs, formerly included (until the 2008 edition) in this article under Occupied and Previously Occupied Territories, is now covered in the article at the end of the Governments section called the Palestinian Authority/Palestine Liberation Organization.

Note: Due to the failure of elected Kadima leader Tzipi Livni to form a coalition government, the 17th Knesset was formally dissolved on November 10, 2008, leaving Ehud Olmert, who had resigned months earlier, to remain in office until the new elections. Held on February 10, 2009, the elections produced no outright majority. Kadima came in first with 28 seats, followed closely by Likud with 27 seats. Additional results are as follows: Israel Is Our Home, 15; Israel Labor Party (ILP), ...

locked icon

Sign in to access this content

Get a 30 day FREE TRIAL

  • Watch videos from a variety of sources bringing classroom topics to life
  • Read modern, diverse business cases
  • Explore hundreds of books and reference titles