Republic of India


Note: In general elections to the 15th Lok Sabha, held in five phases between April 16 and May 13, 2009, an electorate of 714 million awarded the United Progressive Alliance (UPA), led by the Indian National Congress (INC), a decisive victory with 263 of 543 available seats. The National Democratic Alliance (NDA) received 159 seats, while the Third Front and Fourth Front received 78 and 26 seats, respectively. Other parties and Independents claimed 17 seats in election. Manmohan Singh of the INC will serve another term as prime minister.

Note: On November 26, 2008, members of Lashkar-e-Taiba, a Pakistan-based militant organization, launched more than 10 coordinated shooting and bombing attacks in Mumbia, India. The attacks lasted until November 29 and killed more than 173 ...

locked icon

Sign in to access this content

Get a 30 day FREE TRIAL

  • Watch videos from a variety of sources bringing classroom topics to life
  • Read modern, diverse business cases
  • Explore hundreds of books and reference titles