Republic of Honduras

República de Honduras

Political Status: Part of the independent Captaincy General of Guatemala, 1821; member of United Provinces of Central America, 1824–1838; separate republic established 1839; present constitution promulgated January 20, 1982, following a decade of military rule.

Area: 43,277 sq. mi. (112,088 sq. km.).

Population: 6,535,344 (2001C); 7,676,000 (2007E). The 2001 figure does not include an adjustment for underenumeration.

Major Urban Centers (2005E): TEGUCIGALPA (857,000), San Pedro Sula (510,000).

Official Language: Spanish.

Monetary Unit: Lempira (market rate November 1, 2008: 18.90 lempiras = $1US).

President: José Manuel (Mel) ZELAYA Rosales (Liberal Party); elected on November 27, 2005, and inaugurated for a four-year term on January 27, 2006, in succession to Ricardo MADURO Joest (National Party).

First Vice President: Elvin Ernesto SANTOS (Liberal Party); elected with the president on November 27, ...

locked icon

Sign in to access this content

Get a 30 day FREE TRIAL

  • Watch videos from a variety of sources bringing classroom topics to life
  • Read modern, diverse business cases
  • Explore hundreds of books and reference titles