Republic of Haiti

République d'Haïti

Note: A new cabinet was named by Prime Minister Michèle Pierre-Louis on August 25, 2008, and sworn in on September 5, following approval by the legislature.

Political Status: Independent state proclaimed in 1804; republic since 1859; military-backed regime installed following coup of September 30, 1991; constitutional government reinstated on November 8, 1994.

Area: 10,714 sq. mi. (27,750 sq. km.).

Population: 7,929,048 (2003C); 8,839,000 (2007E). The 2003 figure does not include an adjustment for undernumeration.

Major Urban Centers (2005E): PORT-AU-PRINCE (1,249,000), Carrefour (446,000), Cap-Haïtien (112,000).

Official Languages: French, Creole.

Monetary Unit: Gourde (market rate November 1, 2008: 39.50 gourdes = $1US).

President: René PRÉVAL (Front for Hope); elected on February 7, 2006, and sworn in on May 14, succeeding acting president Boniface ALEXANDRE (Independent).

Prime Minister: Michèle PIERRE-LOUIS (Independent); nominated by ...

locked icon

Sign in to access this content

Get a 30 day FREE TRIAL

  • Watch videos from a variety of sources bringing classroom topics to life
  • Read modern, diverse business cases
  • Explore hundreds of books and reference titles