Cooperative Republic of Guyana

Political Status: Formerly the colony of British Guiana; independent member of the Commonwealth since May 26, 1966; under republican regime instituted February 23, 1970; present constitution approved February 11, 1980, with effect from October 6.

Area: 83,000 sq. mi. (214,969 sq. km.).

Population: 751,223 (2002C); 753,000 (2006E).

Major Urban Center (metropolitan area, 2003E): GEORGETOWN (231,000).

Official Language: English.

Monetary Unit: Guyana Dollar (market rate November 1, 2008: 203.10 dollars = $1US).

President: Bharrat JAGDEO (People's Progressive Party); sworn in August 11, 1999, to succeed Samuel A. (Sam) HINDS (Civic), who had been elevated from Prime Minister to Provisional President upon the resignation of Janet JAGAN (People's Progressive Party) for health reasons on August 1; sworn in for a second term on March 31, 2001, following legislative election of ...

locked icon

Sign in to access this content

Get a 30 day FREE TRIAL

  • Watch videos from a variety of sources bringing classroom topics to life
  • Read modern, diverse business cases
  • Explore hundreds of books and reference titles