Republic of Ghana

Note:John Atta Mills, candidate for the opposition party, the National Democratic Congress (NDC), achieved victory over Nana Akufo-Addo of the ruling New Patriotic Party (NPP) in the second round run-off held on December 28, 2008, taking 50.23% of the vote. Mills was inaugurated as the new president on January 7, 2009. The NDC also won the elections to the National Assembly, held December 7, 2009, taking 114 seats over the NPP with 107. Additional results are as follows: People’s National Convention (PNC), 2; Convention People’s Party (CPP), 1; and independents, 4.

Note: In the presidential election on December 7, 2008, Nana Dankwa Akufo-Addo of the New Patriotic Party (NPP) secured 49.13 percent of the vote, and John Evans Atta Mills of the National Democratic ...

locked icon

Sign in to access this content

Get a 30 day FREE TRIAL

  • Watch videos from a variety of sources bringing classroom topics to life
  • Read modern, diverse business cases
  • Explore hundreds of books and reference titles