Republic of Finland

Suomen Tasavalta (Finnish)

Republiken Finland (Swedish)

Political Status: Independent since December 6, 1917; republic established July 17, 1919, under presidential-parliamentary system.

Area: 130,119 sq. mi. (337,009 sq. km.).

Population: 5,181,115 (2000C); 5,305,000 (2007E).

Major Urban Centers (2005E): HELSINKI (551,000), Espoo (239,000), Tampere (208,000), Turku (178,000).

Official Languages: Finnish, Swedish.

Monetary Unit: Euro (market rate November 1, 2008: 1 euro = $1.27US).

President: Tarja HALONEN (Finnish Social Democratic Party); reelected in second-round balloting on February 29, 2006, and inaugurated for a six-year term on March 1, 2006.

Prime Minister: Matti VANHANEN (Finnish Center); designated by the president on June 24, 2003, following the legislative election earlier that day; sworn in on June 24, 2003, as part of a three-party coalition government replacing Anneli JÄÄTTEENMÄKI (Finnish Center), who had resigned on June 18, 2003; ...

locked icon

Sign in to access this content

Get a 30 day FREE TRIAL

  • Watch videos from a variety of sources bringing classroom topics to life
  • Read modern, diverse business cases
  • Explore hundreds of books and reference titles