Union of the Comoros

Union des Comores (French)

Political Status: Former French dependency; proclaimed independent July 6, 1975; Federal Islamic Republic of the Comoros proclaimed in constitution approved by national referendum on October 1, 1978; constitution of October 20, 1996, suspended following military coup of April 30, 1999; new constitution providing for the Union of the Comoros adopted by national referendum on December 23, 2001.

Area: 718 sq. mi. (1,860 sq. km.), excluding the island of Mahoré (Mayotte), which voted in 1976 to retain its affiliation with France as a “Territorial Collectivity” and is now classified as a French “Overseas Collectivity.”

Population: 576,660 (2003C), excluding residents of Mahoré; 843,000 (2007E), excluding Mahoré. The 2003 figure appears to reflect either substantial underenumeration or an absence of returns from Anjoan.

Major Urban ...

locked icon

Sign in to access this content

Get a 30 day FREE TRIAL

  • Watch videos from a variety of sources bringing classroom topics to life
  • Read modern, diverse business cases
  • Explore hundreds of books and reference titles