People's Republic of Bangladesh

Ganaprojatantri Bangladesh

Note: Former prime minister Sheikh Hasina's Awami League won an overwhelming victory in the election of December 29, 2008. Results released by the election commission on December 30 and 31 gave the Awami League 231 seats in the 300-member Parliament. Former prime minister Begum Khaleda Zia's Bangladesh Nationalist Party, which had been in power from 2001 until 2006, won only 29 seats, followed by the Awami-allied Jatiya Party of Mohammad Ershad with 27 seats. Twelve other seats were divided among five parties and three independents, with 1 seat yet to be filled. A new government under Hasina was expected to take office in early January 2009.

Political Status: Independent state proclaimed March 26, 1971; de facto independence achieved December 16, 1971; republican ...

locked icon

Sign in to access this content

Get a 30 day FREE TRIAL

  • Watch videos from a variety of sources bringing classroom topics to life
  • Read modern, diverse business cases
  • Explore hundreds of books and reference titles