Azerbaijan Republic

Azerbaycan Respublikasy

Political Status: Azerbaijan Republic established under Turkish auspices in May 1918; joined the Union of Soviet Socialist Republics (USSR) as part of the Transcaucasian Soviet Federated Republic on December 30, 1922; became separate Soviet Socialist Republic on December 5, 1936; independence declared August 30, 1991, and confirmed October 18, 1991; new constitution providing for a strong presidential system adopted by national referendum on November 12, 1995, and entered into force November 27.

Area: 33,436 sq. mi. (86,600 sq. km.).

Population: 7,953,000 (1999C); 8,328,000 (2006E).

Major Urban Center (2005E): BAKU (1,820,000).

Official Language: Azeri (Azerbaijani).

Monetary Unit: Manat (official rate November 2, 2007: 1 manats = $1.17US). (A new manat, equivalent to 5,000 old manats, was introduced in January 2006. Both were to remain as legal tender until the ...

locked icon

Sign in to access this content

Get a 30 day FREE TRIAL

  • Watch videos from a variety of sources bringing classroom topics to life
  • Read modern, diverse business cases
  • Explore hundreds of books and reference titles