Antigua and Barbuda

Political Status: Former British dependency; joined West Indies Associated States in 1967; independent member of the Commonwealth since November 1, 1981.

Area: 171.5 sq. mi. (444 sq. km.), encompassing the main island of Antigua (108 sq. mi.) and the dependent islands of Barbuda (62 sq. mi.) and Redonda (0.5 sq. mi.).

Population: 77,426 (2001C); 81,000 (2006E).

Major Urban Center (2005E): ST. JOHN’S (22,700).

Official Language: English.

Monetary Unit: East Caribbean Dollar (official rate November 2, 2007: 2.70 EC dollars = $1US).

Sovereign: Queen ELIZABETH II.

Governor General: Sir James B. CARLISLE; sworn in to succeed Sir Wilfred Ebenezer JACOBS, who retired June 10, 1993.

Prime Minister: Winston Baldwin SPENCER (United Progressive Party); sworn in March 24, 2004, following election of March 23, succeeding Lester Bryant BIRD (Antigua Labour Party).

The Country

Located in the northern ...

locked icon

Sign in to access this content

Get a 30 day FREE TRIAL

  • Watch videos from a variety of sources bringing classroom topics to life
  • Read modern, diverse business cases
  • Explore hundreds of books and reference titles