Democratic and Popular Republic of Algeria

al-Jumhuriyah al-Jazairiyah

al-Dimuqratiyah al-Shabiyah

Note: According to preliminary results from the May 17, 2007, elections to the National People’s Assembly, the governing coalition of the National Liberation Front (FLN), National Democratic Rally (RND), and the Movement for a Peaceful Society (MSP) easily retained a strong legislative majority with 249 seats (FLN, 136; RND, 61; MSP, 52). Opposition parties were led by the Workers' Party (26 seats), the Rally for Culture and Democracy (19), and the Algerian National Front (15). (The outlawed Islamic Salvation Front and several small legal parties had called for a boycott of the balloting, and turnout of only 35.5 percent was reported.) Prime Minister Abdelaziz Belkhadem and his cabinet announced their pro forma resignation on June 1, but President ...

locked icon

Sign in to access this content

Get a 30 day FREE TRIAL

  • Watch videos from a variety of sources bringing classroom topics to life
  • Read modern, diverse business cases
  • Explore hundreds of books and reference titles